31.7 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

Defence Ministers of India Full List 2023

Baldev Singh Chokkar served as the first Defence Minister of independent India during 1947-52 as a part of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru's cabinet. Currently, Rajnath Singh holds the position of Defence Minister in India.

Hello, Warriors! India, after independence, has seen many wars and various operations including counter-terrorism and disaster relief and the armed forces have never backed up in any situation.

The charge of the Indian Armed Forces was first led by Baldev Singh from 1946 to 1952 and is currently in hands of Shri Rajnath Singh India has witnessed 40 defence ministers since its independence.

Defence Minister of India

A nation’s well-being relies on the strength of its defence, and a robust defence ministry serves as its backbone.

The Indian government is responsible for maintaining a strong defence, with the President serving as the supreme commander of all Armed Forces. The cabinet ministry of defence is tasked with overseeing the nation’s defence, with the Defence Minister serving as its head.

Baldev Singh Chokkar served as the first Defence Minister of independent India during 1947-52 as a part of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru’s cabinet. Currently, Rajnath Singh holds the position of Defence Minister in India.

ssb psychological tests practice book

Current Defence Minister of India

Currently, the mature and experienced Rajnath Singh shoulders the responsibility of India’s defense. As a senior political leader, Raksha Mantri Shri Rajnath Singh rose through the ranks of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) after beginning his career as an ABVP activist.

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh

Born on July 10, 1951 in the village of Bhabhuara in Uttar Pradesh, Rajnath Singh grew up in a family of farmers. He obtained a master’s degree in physics from Gorakhpur University and worked as a physics lecturer at K.B. Post-Graduate College in Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh.

As the current Defense Minister, Rajnath Singh is committed to increasing the participation of women in the armed forces and has initiated several measures to achieve this. He firmly believes in India’s potential and spirit and is determined to see the country regain its title of Viswaguru.


Here are all the ministers of defence since India’s independence:

S. NONameStarting DateEnding Date
1Baldev Singh Chokkar15 August 194713 May 1952
2N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar13 May 195210 February 1953
3Jawaharlal Nehru27 February 195310 January 1955
4Kailash Nath Katju10 January 195530 January 1957
5Jawaharlal Nehru30 January 195717 April 1957
6V. K. Krishna Menon17 April 19571 November 1962
7Jawaharlal Nehru1 November 196221 November 1962
8Yashwantrao Chavan21 November 196213 November 1966
9Swaran Singh13 November 196627 June 1970
10Jagjivan Ram27 June 197010 October 1974
12Swaran Singh10 October 19741 December 1975
13Indira Gandhi1 December 197521 December 1975
14Bansi Lal21 December 197524 March 1977
15Jagjivan Ram28 March 197727 July 1979
16Chidambaram Subramaniam30 July 197914 January 1980
17Indira Gandhi14 January 198015 January 1982
18R. Venkataraman15 August 19821 August 1984
19Shankarrao Chavan3 August 198431 December 1984
20P. V. Narasimha Rao1 January 198524 September 1985
21Rajiv Gandhi25 September 198524 January 1987
22V. P. Singh25 January 198712 April 1987
23K. C. Pant18 April 19873 December 1989
24V. P. Singh6 December 198910 November 1990
25Chandra Shekhar21 November 199020 June 1991
26P. V. Narasimha Rao21 June 199126 June 1991
27Sharad Pawar26 June 19915 March 1993
28P. V. Nasimha Rao6 March 199316 May 1996
29Pramod Mahajan16 May 19961 June 1996
30Mulayam Singh Yadav1 June 199619 March 1998
31George Fernandes19 March 199816 March 2001
32Jaswant Singh16 March 200121 October 2001
33George Fernandes21 October 200122 May 2004
34Pranab Mukherjee22 May 200424 October 2006
35A. K. Antony26 October 200626 May 2014
36Arun Jaitley26 May 20149 November 2014
37Manohar Parrikar9 November 201413 March 2017
38Arun Jaitley13 March 20173 September 2017
39Nirmala Sitharaman3 September 201731 May 2019
40Rajnath Singh31 May 2019Incumbent

Defence Minister of India: FAQs

Q1. Who is the current Defence Minister of India?

Ans. Mr. Rajnath singh is the current Defence Minister of India

Q2. Who was the first Defence Minister of India?

Ans. Mr. Baldev Singh was the first Defence Minister of India.

Knowing about the Defense Ministers of India is important for competitive exams, especially those related to Indian history, politics, and current affairs. Questions related to the Defense Ministers of India can be asked in various competitive exams, such as civil services examinations, banking exams, and other government job exams. Therefore, it is recommended to have a basic understanding of the Defense Ministers of India and their contributions.

SSBCrackExams is a comprehensive online platform dedicated to assisting candidates in preparing for the Services Selection Board (SSB) interviews and various other defense-related examinations in India.
- Advertisement -

Trending News

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img

Recent News

Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.