5 Things You Must Know About National War Memorial

The Hon’ble PM dedicated the National War Memorial to the Armed Forces today on behalf of the Nation. The Dedication Ceremony was a solemn occasion wherein 25942 fallen Heroes & 21 Gallant Param Vir Chakra recipients post-independence, got their rightful due through the War Memorial. Since-Independence nearly 26,000 soldiers of the Indian Armed Forces have made supreme sacrifice to defend sovereignty & integrity of India. The National War Memorial represents gratitude of a Nation to its Armed Forces & will serve as a symbol of inspiration for future generations. A new war memorial has been built in the India Gate complex as a “national centre for civilian engagement and reverence for the forces.” A tall ceremonial obelisk at its centre will bear the eternal flame dedicated to the sacrifices made by soldiers after India’s Independence.

  • The layout of the National War Memorial comprises four concentric circles, namely, the ‘Amar Chakra’ or Circle of Immortality, the ‘Veerta Chakra’ or Circle of Bravery, the ‘Tyag Chakra’ or Circle of Sacrifice, and the ‘Rakshak Chakra’ or Circle of Protection.
  • The National War Memorial complex includes a central obelisk, an eternal flame, and six bronze murals depicting famous battles fought by Indian Army, Air Force and Navy.
  • Busts of the 21 awardees of Param Veer Chakra have been installed at Param Yoddha Sthal which includes three living awardees Sub Maj (Hony Capt) Bana Singh (Retd), Sub Major Yogendra Singh Yadav and Sub Sanjay Kumar.
  • National War Memorial represents the culmination of the collective aspiration of a grateful nation to pay a fitting tribute to the martyrs.
  • Tyag Chakra of National War Memorial has 16 martyrs wall constructed to pay homage to the battle casualties. In the pic is a wall with inscribed in golden letters the names of soldiers who made supreme sacrifice.

Get SSB Dates and Notification In your Inbox !

You May Also Like