25.1 C
Monday, April 15, 2024

3 Branches and 10 Sub-Streams of Indian Air Force You Must Know

As an Officer in the Indian Air Force, you will inherit a glorious heritage and timeless traditions of the IAF, blended perfectly with the latest technology.

Many candidates have the dream of joining Indian air force, few want to be a pilot and few want to be in the technical field of Indian air force. In this article we are going to cover the main branch and sub stream of Indian air force in detail and how one could join these branches of Indian air force.

An officer is a member of an armed force or uniformed service who holds a position of authority. To be able to lead and control, requires the ability to motivate yourself, inspire others and make tough decisions efficiently. When you join to become an Air Force Officer, we’ll help you develop your leadership and management skills, preparing you fully to take on the challenge of leading in real life situations.


Lessons in team work, developing communication skills and confidence, honing strategic and dynamic thinking and preparing you to face pressures with ease are grilled into an Officer during his training. The Air Force teaches you all, not only making men and women of young boys and girls but making them leaders in life. An officer’s strength of character and strong moral compass make him/her stand out from the crowd at all times.

oir test and ppdt

As an Officer in the Indian Air Force, you will inherit a glorious heritage and timeless traditions of the IAF, blended perfectly with the latest technology.

As an officer in the Indian Air Force you will strategies, lead and manage. Depending on your qualifications, you could join one of the various branches in the IAF. Broadly the Air Force has three branches with further sub-streams :

Indian Air Force Lady Officers

(a) Flying Branch: You surely fly high by joining the Flying branch of the IAF. You are trained as a Fighter pilot or a Helicopter pilot or a Transport pilot and are part of various peace and wartime missions. The various modes of entry into the Flying Branch are NDA exam and AFCAT exam.

  • Fighters
  • Transports
  • Helicopters

(b)  Technical Branch: As an officer in the Technical Branch, you propel and manage your team to ensure that the Indian Air Force remains airworthy. You would be in charge of some of the most sophisticated equipment in the world by joining one of the sub branches based on your qualification. One could join the Indian air force technical branch through AFCAT exam.

  • Mechanical
  • Electronics

(c)  Ground Duty Branch: Managing human and material resources, the Ground Duty Branch is the mechanism that steers the Indian Air Force. One could apply for GDOC through AFCAT exam.

  • Administration
  • Accounts
  • Logistics
  • Education
  • Meteorology

The Editorial Team at SSBCrack consists of professional writers, journalists and defence aspirants.
- Advertisement -

Trending News

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img

Recent News

Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img


  1. I’m a girl and I’m in class 12 with stream bio so i want ask to you that can i eligible to join the airforce and please gave me all information about airforce When to fill the form of Airforce and what sub will have to be taken and what will be done

    • i think you can become a helicopter pilot i am in 9th and even i want to become a flying officer in the IAF u will have to give the nda exam and then the 5 day ssb interview then the medical test then the PABT test then i think you are in the IAF Nabham sparsham deeptam


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.