How and Who Can Earn Ashok Chakra

The Ashoka Chakra shall be awarded for most conspicuous bravery, or some act of daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice otherwise than in the face of the enemy.

The persons eligible for the Ashoka Chakra shall be:

  • Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces.
  • Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
  • Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life and members of Police Forces including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force.

The names of the persons to whom Ashoka Chakra has been awarded during the last five years and current year are as under:

Year*Names of Ashoka Chakra Awardees
2014Major Mukund Varadarajan, The Rajput Regiment/44th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2015Naik Neeraj Kumar Singh, Rajputana Rifles/57th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
20161. Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami, 9th Battalion The Parachute Regiment (Special Forces) (Posthumous)2.  Havildar Hangpan Dada, The Assam Regiment/35th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2018Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Indian Air Force (Security) (Posthumous)
2019Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani, Bar to Sena Medal, The Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry/34th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (posthumous)

Get SSB Dates and Notification In your Inbox !

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.